At its meeting held on 21 June 2016, when considering a governance review, Orkney Islands Council Policy and Resources Committee recommended, inter alia, that a Harbour Authority Sub-committee, encompassing the statutory functions of the harbour authority and the safe and effective operation of the harbour area, comprising seven Members of the Development and Infrastructure Committee, be established.

The Harbour Authority Sub-committee exercises the function of Duty Holder, with responsibility for the safety of all harbour activities.

The seven Elected Members who form the Harbours Sub Committee are:

David Dawson
David Dawson

Born and raised in Caithness, I spent my early working life in wildlife management before embarking on a 30 year career with the Northern Constabulary, serving in various parts of the Highlands and Islands before moving to Orkney in 1992. For some years prior to retiring from the service in 2010, I was the Community Safety Officer for Orkney, representing Northern Constabulary on various bodies relative to community planning in Orkney.

Besides being the part-time Rector of St Olaf’s Episcopal Church, I am also Chaplain to the Sea Cadet Corps, the Royal Naval Association and the Kirkwall branch of Royal British Legion (Scotland).

Married to Barbara since 1981, we have four grown up children and one young grandson.

Heather Woodbridge
Subscribe to Alerts
To receive a notification when we add a new Notice, please enter your email below and click Subscribe.